Spread the love
HomeRugbyPremier 15s: 2021-22 season to incorporate new Allianz Cup competitors

Premier 15s: 2021-22 season to incorporate new Allianz Cup competitors

Spread the love

Harlequins won the title for the first time last season

The 2021/22 season of the Allianz Premier 15s will include a new cup competition in their fixtures.

The 18 rounds of the regular league begin on September 4th, the semi-finals on May 21st and the final on June 4th.

Reigning champions Harlequins begin his title defense at home against Loughborough Lightning.

During the season, the Allianz Cup is introduced, which is intended to give more team players playing time in the international window.

There are two pools in the cup, which are determined by their placements in the last season, in which five teams compete against each other. The two best teams from each pool will advance to the semi-finals on April 16. The final will take place on April 22nd.

A transfer agreement for the women’s league has not been announced for the upcoming campaign, but the Rugby Football Union said that “streaming details will be confirmed in due course”.

Conor O’Shea, Director of Performance Rugby at RFU, said: “The calendar gives each Allianz Premier 15 round more profile and exposure, and the introduction of the Allianz Cup is a welcome and exciting development, providing important season for the wider squad .

“The domestic season starts with 15 months of rugby for women.”

The Women’s Rugby World Cup is slated to take place in New Zealand in March next year as it has been postponed to 2021 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Opening round of the regular games:

Gloucester-Hartpury versus DMP Durham Sharks

Bristol Bears versus Exeter Chiefs

Sale Sharks versus Worcester Warriors

Harlequins versus Loughborough Lightning

Wasps against Saracens

Allianz Cup Pools:

A: Harlequins, Wasps, Gloucester-Hartpury, Bristol Bears and DMP Durham Sharks

B: Saracens, Loughborough Lightning, Exeter Chiefs, Worcester Warriors and Sale Sharks


Most Popular