Home Soccer No Issahaku: Anim Cudjoe headlines new Ghana U20 squad introduced

No Issahaku: Anim Cudjoe headlines new Ghana U20 squad introduced

No Issahaku: Anim Cudjoe headlines new Ghana U20 squad introduced
Spread the love

The staunch teenager was not featured, but the Legon Cities winger is a noticeable name on the new roster

The African U20 champions Ghana have called 35 players to the camp before their upcoming international appearances.

Coach Abdul Karim Zito’s squad consists of players who helped win the Black Satellites at the African U20 Cup in Mauritania earlier this year.

Former Bayern triallist Mathew Anim Cudjoe, a member of the winning contingent, has been invited to the upcoming camp, as have Ofori MacCarthy from Eleven Wonders, Ivan Anokye Mensah from Zalina FC and James Amfofo from Semper FC.

It is noticeable that Steadfast FC prodigy Abdul Fatawu Issahaku, who played at the tournament as a 16-year-old and still qualifies for the next tournament in 2023, was not called up.

The attacker has gained worldwide notoriety recently after being linked with Liverpool and Borussia Dortmund after a failed move to German club Bayer Leverkusen.

He has also been called up to Ghana’s senior team in the last two games but has yet to make his debut.

The West Africans will defend their U20 Afcon crown at the next meeting in Egypt in 2023.

Full squad:

Kwabena Boateng (Accra Great Olympics FC), Emmanuel Ayei (Shalon FC), Kweku Boateng (Charity Stars FC), Anim Matthew Cudjoe (Legon Cities FC), Mensah Ivan Anokye (Zalina FC), Ofori MacCarthy (Eleven Wonders FC), Samuel Koshie Agbeyingah (Heart of Lions FC), James Ampofo (Semper C), Frank Boateng (Prestige FC), Agyemang Duah Emmanuel (Ebony FC), Kobena Gogo Boahen (Swedru All Blacks FC), Samari Salifu Abass (Young Apostles FC), Emmanuel Osei Asibey (Benab FC), Eugene Amporfo Amankwah (Benab FC), Mose Salifu Bawa (Cheetah FC), Mohaison Mohmoud (Ebony Babies), Jonas Naafo (Nania FC), Raphic Maftawo (Rences FC), Shaibu Abdallah (In God We Trust FC), Daniel Owura Akuffo (Still Believe FC), John Bitigi (Real Lions FC), Zaidan Alhassan (New Edubiase FC), Emmanuel Mensah (Simpafi Soccer Academy), Kelvin Saaba (Dansoman Bea), Daniel Lokka Queye (Vision FC), Collins Boah (In God We Trust FC), Patrick Arthur (Renees FC), Atta Amoss (Offinso United FC), Sylvester Antwi (Feyenoord Youth FC), Anas t Asius Satuh (Kasina Nankana FC), Bukari Sommed (Bolga All Stars FC), Baffoe Isaac (Young Apostles FC), Sayibu Yakubu (BYJ), Gideon Majambe Armah (Oil City FC), Adu Boahen Hayford (Real Lions FC)