Spread the love
HomeSoccerMythbuster: Does successful the Group Defend jinx a crew's Premier League possibilities?

Mythbuster: Does successful the Group Defend jinx a crew’s Premier League possibilities?

Spread the love

Manchester United has won the Community Shield the most in the last 20 years …

Reigning Premier League champions Manchester City and FA Cup champions Leicester City will clash at Wembley Stadium in London on Saturday for the 2021 Community Shield clash.

This will be Manchester City’s third Community Shield appearance in four years, while Leicester will compete in six years. The last time the Foxes played in the Community Shield was in 2016 when they appeared as Champions of England. They lost 2-1 to FA Cup winners Manchester United.

The Cityzens won their third Premier League title in the Pep Guardiola era and their sixth league title overall last season. With 86 points from 38 games, they led the table.

Brendan Rodgers’ Leicester City, on the other hand, defeated giants Chelsea 1-0 in the final and won their first FA Cup title.

Community Shield is an annual game played between the league winners and the FA Cup winners. It is the first game of a new season in England. It is often said that winning the Community Shield will bewitch your chances of winning the Premier League.

But how many times does a Community Shield winner win the Premier League title in the same season?

Manchester City celebrate against Wolves, Premier League 2020-21

History suggests that only six Community Shield champions have won the Premier League title in the past 20 years. Manchester United have won both titles three times in the last 20 years, followed by Chelsea, who have managed the feat twice. Manchester City won both trophies in the 2018/19 season.

Who are the Community Shield and Premier League winners for the past 20 years?

seasonCommunity Shield winnerPremier League winner
2002-03arsenalManchester United
2003-04Manchester Unitedarsenal
2006-07LiverpoolManchester United
2007-08Manchester UnitedManchester United
2008-09Manchester UnitedManchester United
2010-11Manchester UnitedManchester United
2011-12Manchester UnitedManchester city
2012-13Manchester cityManchester United
2013-14Manchester UnitedManchester city
2015-16arsenalLeicester City
2016-17Manchester UnitedChelsea
2017-18arsenalManchester city
2018-19Manchester cityManchester city
2019-20Manchester cityLiverpool
2020-21arsenalManchester city

Who has won the Community Shield most often?

Manchester United have won the Community Shield the most (21), followed by Arsenal (16) and Liverpool (15). Manchester City are the sixth most successful team in tournament history with six titles and a win on Saturday will help them break the Tottenham Hotspurs record.

Manchester United211908, 1911, 1952, 1956, 1957, 1965 *, 1967 *, 1977 *, 1983, 1990 *, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2016
arsenal161930, 1931, 1933, 1934, 1938, 1948, 1953, 1991 *, 1998, 1999, 2002, 2004, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2020
Liverpoolfifteen1964 *, 1965 *, 1966, 1974, 1976, 1977 *, 1979, 1980, 1982, 1986 *, 1988, 1989, 1990 *, 2001, 2006
Everton91928, 1932, 1963, 1970, 1984, 1985, 1986 *, 1987, 1995
Tottenham Hotspur7th1921, 1951, 1961, 1962, 1967 *, 1981 *, 1991 *

* Common title


Most Popular