Spread the love
HomeCricketMelbourne Stars Signal Joe Burns For the Subsequent Three Seasons Of The...

Melbourne Stars Signal Joe Burns For the Subsequent Three Seasons Of The BBL

Spread the love

Melbourne Stars have signed Joe Burns for the next three Big Bash League (BBL) seasons. The 31-year-old is leaving his nine-year Brisbane Heat franchise to compete for the stars. It was his hometown and he had played 59 games for the team.

The contract that Burns signed with Melbourne runs until the 2023/24 season. He was excited about the prospect of playing for a top team. His commitment strengthens the Melbourne top medal, which will relieve all-rounder Marcus Stoinis.

After the announcement, Burns stated: “It was obviously a difficult decision to leave the Heat after such a long time, but I’m ready for a new challenge with the Stars. The Melbourne Stars have been a very strong team over the years and I’m very happy to be part of the team and can’t wait to get into training with my new teammates.

Melbourne Stars coach David Hussey is delighted with the signing of Joe Burns

Head coach David Hussey was as expected happy after signing Joe Burns. He mentioned that Burns’ experience will add much-needed depth to strike order. Burns has 1,192 runs in 59 games for the Brisbane heat on average 24.54. Given its recent form, it will provide the stability needed for its new franchise.

We look forward to welcoming Joe to our roster for the next three seasons, especially given the experience and depth he brings to the roster. We’re building a strong group with a lot of star power so hopefully we can play in front of our home fans and make it a special summer.“Claimed the younger Hussey brother.

Burns has shown a tendency to flourish as a finisher as well. This allows it to be played as a floater. Despite having gone through a difficult period internationally, Burns had an outstanding season for the Heat last time that brought them to the grand finale.

Melbourne Stars BBL 11 squad (so far):

Joe Burns, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Seb Gotch, Liam Hatcher, Clint Hinchliffe, Nick Larkin, Glenn Maxwell (c), Tom O’Connell, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa


Most Popular