Garcia and Arenas win in La Coruna | REPORT

Garcia and Arenas win in La Coruna | REPORT

Spain’s European bronze medallist Diego Garcia and Colombia’s world fifth-placer Sandra Lorena Arenas have been profitable on the Gran Premio Cantones de La Coruna ­– the Spanish leg of this 12 months’s World Athletics Problem – Race Strolling sequence – on Saturday (5) over a flat and quick 1km circuit at sea stage.

Garcia takes Podebrady revenge

The lads’s occasion began fairly slowly, the opening kilometre being coated in 4:17 with Spain’s Ivan Pajuelo within the lead. The tempo elevated barely over the next laps because of Ecuador’s Mauricio Arteaga who led at 4:05/km tempo.

By the 5km level the Ecuadorian led in 20:31, 5 seconds forward of Mexico’s Jesus Vega and Germany’s Hagen Pohle. At that early stage, the primary favourites within the guise of Sweden’s Perseus Karlstrom and Spain’s Alvaro Martin plus Garcia didn’t function within the high 10.

By midway, which was crossed in 40:46, 23 walkers nonetheless remained within the lead group led by Vega and Martin. Britain’s Tom Bosworth led the then quickest lap within the eleventh circuit with a 4:02 cut up, then Germany’s Cristopher Linke took command and stepped up the tempo to clock a brisk 3:56 within the thirteenth kilometre for an general 42:45 time, as 14 walkers featured within the main pack.

The clock learn 1:00:44 with 5 laps remaining and the group was led by Ecuador’s Andres Chocho, regardless of him having perfomed and gained on the South American Championships six days earlier than in Guayaquil.

A frantic 3:50 sixteenth kilometre by Karlstrom diminished the lead group to only three – the Podebrady podium with the Swedish ace, Martin and Garcia. After one other relentless lap timed at 3:49, Garcia moved to the entrance with Martin and Karlstrom was proper behind him. With some 1750m left, the 25-year-old Garcia modified his velocity to depart Martin behind and the race grew to become a two-horse battle between the Swedish athlete and Garcia.

Halfway by means of the closing lap, the Spaniard discovered one other gear, a lot to the delight of the house crowd. He managed to construct a sizeable hole on the highly effective Karlstrom, who had defeated him twice this 12 months.

A greater than joyful Garcia romped dwelling in 1:19:37 after a 3:42 last lap, whereas Karlstrom needed to accept the runner-up spot – as was the case in 2017 – seven seconds adrift, with Martin finishing an aesthetic podium in 1:19:59.

“I’m over the moon as Cantones is the very best race strolling allow on this planet,” stated Garcia. “My identify will now be among the many winners right here, that’s a dream come true.

“Till the final a part of the occasion, there have been numerous walkers within the heading group, it made me uneasy as all of them have been harmful rivals nevertheless it was a reduction when solely Karsltrom and Martin remained with me. At that time I used to be undecided if I might win however the help from the native crowd was key as I discovered the additional vitality I wanted to depart them behind.

“It’s true that the Asian walkers haven’t come this 12 months to compete however anyway at this time’s win is a gigantic morale booster forward of the Tokyo Olympics.”

Third time fortunate for Arenas

The ladies’s race opened at a reasonable tempo, the primary 2km being coated in 8:55 with 12 athletes within the main group. Ecuador’s Glenda Morejon and Karla Jaramillo, plus Brazil’s Erica Sena, took cost of the race in these early levels. The tempo elevated within the following kilometres and by the 5km checkpoint (22:13) the main group had whittled down to 5 members – Morejon, Sena, Arenas and the Mexican duo of Ilse Guerrero and the 2018 world 10,000m U20 champion Alegna Gonzalez.

Regardless of having carried out barely one week earlier than on the South American Championships the place they took gold and silver, Morejon and Sena have been in command of the pacing duties to achieve midway in 44:20, solely adopted by Arenas and Gonzalez as Guerrero misplaced floor within the earlier lap.

It was at that time that the 2017 winner Sena injected a brisker tempo and solely Arenas might reside along with her change of velocity. The 36-year-old Brazilian clocked 4:18 for the eleventh lap within the firm of Arenas, whereas Morejon and Gonzalez walked six seconds behind. One kilometre later it grew to become clear that the world U20 record-holder and defending champion Morejon wouldn’t make the rostrum, possible hampered by her latest effort in Guayaquil, as she misplaced 13 seconds in fourth.

Sena and Arenas, who simply missed the medals on the World Athletics Championships in Doha being fourth and fifth respectively, fought fiercely within the lead with the previous all the time dictating the tempo and Arenas tucked in behind her. By the 15km level reached in 1:06:12, Sena had managed to construct a two-second benefit over Arenas, herself 16 seconds forward of Morejon and 23 away from Gonzalez.

The important thing motion got here 1:12 into the race with 3600m remaining, when Arenas broke away simply from her rival to achieve the seventeenth kilometre eight seconds forward of the Brazilian. By the bell the 27-year-old Arenas had constructed a stable 21 seconds lead, whereas Sena nonetheless had 16 seconds over Gonzalez. Whereas the Colombian crossed the end line in 1:28:23, her third quickest ever time, a fading Rocha was lastly overtaken by the Mexican who managed an enormous lifetime better of 1:28:39 (beforehand 1:30:08) with Sena in third 4 seconds behind Gonzalez.

Ranked sixth on this planet earlier than this occasion, the winner is coached by Marcelino Pastrana and had completed ninth in La Coruna in 2014 earlier than a DNF in 2018, so Saturday’s consequence was third time fortunate for Arenas.

Emeterio Valiente for World Athletics


Main outcomes

1 Diego Garcia (ESP) 1:19:37
2 Perseus Karlstrom (SWE) 1:19:44
3 Alvaro Martin (ESP) 1:19:59
4 Brian Daniel Pintado (ECU) 1:20:15 (PB)
5 Andres Olivas (MEX) 1:20:24
6 Callum Wilkinson (GBR) 1:20:32 (PB)
7 Jesus Tadeo Vega (MEX) 1:20:32
8 Jose Oswaldo Calel (GUA) 1:20:35 (PB)
9 David Hurtado (MEX) 1:20:37 (PB)
10 Jordy Jimenez (ECU) 1:20:47 (PB)

1 Sandra Lorena Arenas (COL) 1:28:24
2 Alegna Gonzalez (MEX) 1:28:40 (PB)
3 Erica Sena (BRA) 1:28:44
4 Glenda Morejon (ECU) 1:29:50
5 Noelia Vargas (CRC) 1:30:44 (PB)
6 Mariavittoria Becchetti (ITA) 1:32:03
7 Kimberly Garcia (PER) 1:32:13
8 Nicole Colombi (ITA) 1:32:26 (PB)
9 Magaly Bonilla (ECU) 1:32:34
10 Ilse Guerrero (MEX) 1:33:07


Photographs by Almudena Miguez (FGA)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *