HomeDifferent experience but Annual General Meeting gains universal approval

Different experience but Annual General Meeting gains universal approval

by Ian Marshall

The occasion was the handover to the Swede Petra Sörling as the successor to the German Thomas Weikert in the office of President.

Likewise, four years after the 2017 elections in Düsseldorf, the executive vice-presidents were elected to their offices:

  • Wahid Oshodi (Nigeria)
  • Liu Guoliang (China)
  • Alaor Azevedo (Brazil)
  • Khalil Al-Mohannadi (Qatar)
  • Alaa Meshref (Egypt)
  • Masahiro Maehara (Japan)
  • Roland Natran (Hungary)
  • Graham Symons (Australia)

Elected Vice Presidents with Ryu Seungmin (far left), Zoran Primorac (far right) and ITTF Managing Director Steve Dainton (fourth from right) (Photo: Rémy Gros)

Ratified positions

The board of directors, along with various committees – Equipment, Media, Para, Rules, Sports Science & Medicine, Umpires & Referees, Veterans – have also been ratified.

A situation that also applied to the Continental reports and financial statements.

In particular, all proposals were duly adopted by a large majority, none of which turned out to be contentious, mainly relating to updates, procedures and articles relevant to good governance.


In addition, it was an opportunity to recognize and honor outstanding achievements in recent times.

Presentations were made to USA Table Tennis and the Harris County Houston Sports Authority; the awards to recognize the extraordinary work that was done to make the 2021 World Cup possible in the most difficult times.

Equipment suppliers, Double Happiness and Tamasu Butterfly, were also congratulated for their contributions to the event.

The Chinese National Olympic Committee and the Chinese Table Tennis Association also received plaques in recognition of making the restart possible in 2020.

Above all, the Kenyan Jane Pinto was made a personal honorary member of the ITTF and Thomas Weikert thanked him for his seven years contribution as an ITTF official.

Busan wins votes

Meanwhile, Busan has been chosen to host the 2024 Team World Championship finals.

Reports were received from Chengdu and Durban, the respective hosts of the next editions of the global event.

At the end, Petra Sörling thanked everyone involved and was looking forward to the next four years.

Busan celebrates a more informal atmosphere (Photo: Rémy Gros)

General News ITTF Annual General Meeting 2021


Most Popular