Bartnick picks the highest postseason NHL awards

The NHL has introduced its awards for the 2021 season. One of many solely issues we will be glad about about Covid is that we do not invoice any awards present in Vegas. Not a B-list Canadian celebrities, no awkward jokes and camera-shy winners. The league will announce the names of the winners within the subsequent few weeks. Listed here are my 2 cents for main awards. The Woman Byng shouldn’t be a fantastic honor. It is hockey’s Daytime Emmy.

Hart (MVP) – The three finest younger superstars within the NHL. NEXT, if you’ll. Connor McDavid / Edmonton had essentially the most factors. Auston Matthews / Toronto had essentially the most targets. Nathan MacKinnon / Colorado was the perfect participant on a group to win the President’s Trophy.
My alternative – McDavid
Will win – McDavid

Ted Lindsay (Gamers MVP) – McDavid, Matthews and Sidney Crosby / Pittsburgh have been all primary. The Penguins Captain led the Penguins to the Jap Division title. The Jap Division was the hardest division within the NHL. Crosby was with out his Corridor of Fame teammate Evgeni Malkin for many of the season.
My alternative – Crosby
Will win – Crosby

Norris (Finest Defender) – Victor Hedman / Tampa had a fantastic yr however we noticed him play higher. Cale Makar / Colorado, Paul Coffey dived into Bobby Orr. Adam Fox / Rangers joined MSG and have become the Rangers’ finest defender in 25 years. Makar and Fox are younger and can quickly have their day.
My alternative – Hedman
Will win – Hedman

Vezina (Finest Goalkeeper) – Andrei Vasilevskiy / Tampa is so good he at all times makes it look straightforward. Marc-Andre Fleury / Vegas at all times makes it look thrilling. Philipp Grubauer / Colorado is at all times in the proper place. Grubauer survived a complete season in good well being. Fleury will lose votes as a result of Robyn Lehner has some begins. Does Tampa also have a backup?
My alternative – Vasilevskiy
Will win – Vasilevskiy

Selke (Defensive Ahead) – It could be nice if Sasha Barkov received this award. He is a fantastic participant, however he performs for the Panthers. It is good to see offspring among the many finalists. Patrice Bergeron / Boston stands for outdated blood. Just like Boston politics, he’ll obtain Selke votes upon retirement. Bergeron has been the gold normal for defensive strikers for a decade. Mark Stone / Vegas is an outstanding defensive winger however I feel the award ought to go to a middle.
My alternative – Bergeron
Will win – Stone

Calder (Rookie of the Yr) – Alex Nedeljkovic / Carolina received the beginning goalie job in Carolina and received a playoff spherical. Nick Robertson / Dallas took 2nd place within the rookie classification. Karill Kaprizov / Minnesota led rookies at targets and have become essentially the most thrilling participant within the historical past of the sport group.
My alternative – Kaprizov
Will Win – Kaprizov

Jack Adams – (Coach of the Yr) – Rod Brind’Amour’s / Carolina Hurricanes received the extremely aggressive Central Division. Joel Quenneville / Florida introduced the chronically underperforming Panthers into the playoffs. Dean Evason has a group that I believed would stink within the playoffs. The Wild pushed Vegas to 7 video games. Evason coached rookie Karill Kaprizov to greatness and breathed life into getting older veteran Zach Parise. The savages are now not a group to disregard. You have to watch TV now.
My alternative – Evason
Will win – Evason

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *